Click here to see this online
Uplink: for the faculty, staff, and students of the Coordinated Science Laboratory
CSL awards inaugural PhD Thesis Award
CSL PhD award

Congratulations to Rasoul Etesami, the 2016 CSL Ph.D. Thesis Award winner! CSL Director Klara Nahrstedt and Tamer Basar, Rasoul's doctoral adviser, presented the award in a ceremony on Friday, Oct. 14.

CSL Communications

The National Center for Professional and Research Ethics at the University of Illinois launched the third part of its Coursera leadership specialization this week. Building on content from Courses One and Two, Leadership and Influence aims to give participants the skills to exert influence and become effective team members and leaders.

The course is part of the “Professional IQ: Preventing and Solving Problems at Work”specialization, which tackles the pitfalls that professionals can encounter in the workplace. Read more.

BCC summer camp Les Allen and Zichao Ye 
August Schiess, CSL

CSL Professor Les Allen and his team helped Native American students build projects that used solar and wind energy. Read more. 


Kevin Chang, Aditya Parameswaran, and CSL's Karrie Karahalios received an NSF BIGDATA grant—$1.8 million over four years—to develop DataSpread, a system that holistically unifies spreadsheets and database systems. Read more.

T. "Kesh" Kesavadas 
Kim Gudeman, CSL

The Health Care Engineering Systems Center at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Jump Simulation at OSF HealthCare have selected six new projects for funding through the Jump ARCHES program, which was formed in 2014 through a $50 million endowment.

All six projects, which will receive a total of $546,944, will fund research conducted by Illinois faculty. The program aims to develop technology and techniques that advance clinical simulation and patient care. 

Read more about the six projects.

 CSL Professor Carolyn Beck
August Schiess, CSL

Nam Sung Kim, CSL associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been inducted into the IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO) Hall of Fame, an honor given to outstanding researchers who have consistently contributed to MICRO with high-impact research by ACM SIGMICRO, ACM’s Special Interest Group on Microarchitecture. Read more.

Upcoming Events
Wed, Oct 26, 3:00 pm
Tue, Nov 1, 4:00 pm
Wed, Nov 2, 4:00 pm
Mon, Nov 7, 2:00 pm
Research Grants/Gifts

Grants (ITI)

  • Michael Bailey, Secure & Trustworthy Cyberspace PI Meetings, $26,960, National Science Foundation.


  • Pavan Kumar Hanumolu, Texas Instruments, $60,000.

  • Pavan Kumar Hanumolu, Analog Devices, $60,000.