Click here to see this online
Cybersecurity ethics 
Katie Carr, CSL & ITI

University of Illinois researchers are working to develop an academic curriculum focused specifically on cybersecurity ethics, with the goal of helping students to think through ethical challenges inherent in cybersecurity while they are developing technological skills. Read more.

Varun Badrinath Krishna 

One graduate student in the area of energy sciences is selected to the Siebel Scholars class, in his or her final year of study. Graduate student Varun Badrinath Krishna’s work at the intersection of machine learning, computer security, and energy systems has earned him a spot in the Siebel Scholars Class of 2018. Read more.

Around CSL
Kartik Palani and Hoang Hai Nguyen 
Video of the Month

Congratulations to Video of the Month winners Kartik Palani and Hoang Hai Nguyen! Their video showcases work that aims to better understand cyberattacks to power systems. Watch the video.

CSLSC Weekly Riddle Contest

The student committee for the annual CSL Student Conference is posting weekly riddle contests on Facebook and are giving out $5 Einstein Bros gift cards to one winner each week. Check them out each week to win! 

Save energy over Thanksgiving break

From Wednesday evening through Sunday (Nov. 22-26), the CSL building will be locked and heat will be turned down. Use swipe access to enter the building if necessary, and please power off equipment not being used over the Thanksgiving break to conserve energy.

Send us your news!

Do you have anything new or noteworthy to share? If so, we'd love to hear about it, including: 

  • New research grants
  • Awards and accolades
  • Paper acceptances
  • Novel research or education experiences
  • Anything else that is wow-worthy

Send us these highlights at We can't wait to hear more!

Fri, Nov 10, 4:00 pm
Location: 419 CSL
Wed, Nov 15, 3:00 pm
Location: CSL Auditorium, Room B02
Thu, Nov 16, 3:30 pm
Location: NCSA Auditorium (1122)

Yih-Chun Hu, RAPID: I-Corps for MiddlePolice, $50,000, National Science Foundation.