Click here to see this online
atmospheric waves 

A new type of atmospheric wave  was observed after last year's, "Great American Eclipse," captured in part by ECE Postdoc Brian Harding and Prof. Jonathan Makela from CSL. Read more.

Vikram Adve 
David Mercer, Illinois Computer Science

CSL Professor and Interim CS Department Head Vikram Adve will lead a five-year, $5.6 million effort to reduce the complexity and size of modern software systems, using his groundbreaking work creating the LLVM compiler infrastructure as part of the project. Read more.

Lara Waldrop 

The research team of CSL Assistant Professor Lara Waldrop, Research Scientist Jianqi Qin, and Richard Hodges from the Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics at the University of Colorado Boulder were awarded a grant by the NSF for their proposal on modeling hydrogen atoms in the terrestrial atmosphere. Waldrop is a faculty member in Illinois' Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Read more.

Around CSL

Mark your calendars for the next R.T. Chien Lecture. Dina Katabi, the Andrew & Erna Viterbi Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT, will be delivering the next Chien Lecture on Friday, April 27. The Chien Lecture Series brings in distinguished speakers from all over the world. RSVP here.

In the News

Professor Karrie Karahalios talks to Fox Illinois about what privacy rights Facebook users give up when joining....CSL Professor C.K. Gunsalus weighs in on why Ohio State University went public with misconduct quickly in Science News...


Circuits Seminar: Engineering Electromagnetic Fields to Engineer Future Chip-Scale Systems from RF-THz-Optics


Tim Yardley, “Safe, Secure Autonomous Scanning Solution for Energy Delivery Systems,” 2 years, $147,577, Pacific Northwest National Lab (ITI).

Bill Sanders (PI), Sayan Mitra, and David Nicol, “Science of Security for Resilient Systems,” 5 years, up to $15 million, National Security Agency (ITI).



All from Texas Instruments

Naresh Shanbhag, $115,000

Pavan Hanumolu, $75,000

Elyse Rosenbaum,  $60,000