Click here to see this online

June 2018

Department Head Martin Gruebele sitting at his desk 
Martin Gruebele 

Greetings from the Department Head

Welcome to the summer edition of our e-newsletter! We launched this initiative last August, and I hope that you have enjoyed receiving updates as much as we have enjoyed sending them. Our goal is to develop a robust two-way communication, and to that end, I encourage you to be in touch – let us know what you’d like to see more of!

Here are a few updates on our recent activities and upcoming projects.



 2018 graduate Ashley Lenhart with her family
 2018 graduate Ashley Lenhart with her family

Congratulations to our newest alumni!

Our class of 2018 convocation ceremony was held on Sunday, May 13, at the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts. ACS President Peter Dorhout (BS, ’85) was the convocation speaker.

The Department conferred 25 Bachelor of Science in Chemistry, 134 Bachelor of Science in Liberal Arts & Sciences, 15 Master of Science in Chemistry, one Master of Science in the Teaching of Chemistry, and 53 Doctor of Philosophy in Chemistry degrees.
The Department held a reception in the Illini Union for all graduates and their families and friends.
 photo of John Katzenellenbogen smiling for the camera

John Katzenellenbogen reflects on career of cancer research

A recent award ceremony gave Illinois Chemistry Professor John Katzenellenbogen a chance to reflect on his long and successful career. 

Read more>>

 head shot of Prof. Scott Denmark

Scott Denmark elected to National Academy of Sciences

Scott E. Denmark, the Reynold C. Fuson Professor of Chemistry, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest professional honors a scientist can receive. 


 Head shot of Alayna Johnson

Alayna Johnson named a 2018-19 Goldwater Scholar

Illinois Chemistry sophomore Alayna Johnson has been named a Goldwater Scholar for the 2018-19 academic year. Johnson is one of four University of Illinois students to receive the prestigious honor and is one of our few undergraduate researchers.

 NSF logo

11 chemistry students have won NSF graduate research fellowships

Thirty-two University of Illinois students have won National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowships including 11 students from the Department of Chemistry.


Read more>>

 Renske van der Veen in her lab

Research spotlight: Renske M. van der Veen

Professor Renske M. van der Veen joined the Illinois faculty in 2015.

In this short video, she describes her team’s research on the fundamental processes behind light energy conversion.



 head shot of James Spudich

James Spudich receives a 2018 University of Illinois Alumni Achievement Award

Professor James Spudich (BS, '63), Stanford University School of Medicine, was chosen to receive the University of Illinois Alumni Achievement Award for 2018, which represents the highest honor one may receive from the Illinois Alumni Alliance. While on campus to accept the award, he also gave a lecture for our faculty and students.

Read more>>


Upcoming events


ACS Alumni Reception
August 19, 2018 (Boston, MA)


Ted Brown 90th Birthday Symposium: Confronting the Challenges of Climate Change 
October 15-16, 2018 (Urbana, IL)


St. Elmo Brady Celebration
February 5, 2019 (Urbana, IL)
Save the date! Details to come.


Unsubscribe if you no longer wish to receive the Chemistry e-newsletter.